10.17.15 RECAP: Round 12 | All American Speedway


ROSEVILLE, CALIFORNIA (October 17, 2015) – Granite Bay’s John Moore added to his 2015 Pacific Challenge Series presented by PenneyLawyers.com championship by winning Saturday’s non-points “October Classic 100” at All American Speedway. 24 PCS Super Late Models dueled on the one-third mile asphalt oval in Roseville, CA for a $3,500 prize in front of a packed grandstand.

Moore took the Sunoco Fuels & Racer Bling Fast Time award earlier in the night in his #27 JM Environmental Camaro with a 13.178 second lap, but had his work cut out for him coming from sixth after the inversion. Upperlake’s Jeremy Doss, the winner of the 2014 edition of the race, elected to start at the rear of the field with a $750 bonus on the line if he could get the win.

Moore made the decisive pass on lap 70 to get around June Roseville winner Travis Milburn and never look back en route to a half second win over 2014 series champion Mike Beeler of Modesto.

Valley Springs’ Tracy Bolin led the field to the green and battled with Roseville’s Shannon Mansch for several laps. Eventually Mansch was bounced back to fourth. Bolin, Reno’s Randy Hedrick and Milburn held a three car breakaway early on in the action. Kyle Gottula, winner at Roseville in September, fell out on lap 11 with an apparent engine failure.

The race had plenty of green flag racing early and that saw the leaders encounter lapped traffic on lap 13. Once Moore broke through for the fourth position, he closed down on the leaders for a four car lead pack by the 26th lap.

Chris Scribner of Loomis used lapped traffic to his favor to get around Mansch for fifth. Hedrick used traffic to his advantage as well to take over the lead from Bolin on lap 36. The first caution of the evening fell the following lap for Michael Roman. By that point Doss had navigated from 24th on the grid to tenth in his bid for the bonus award.

The intensity picked up on the restart with Milburn willing his 604 crate engine to make the outside line work and to take the lead from Hedrick on lap 45 in a great battle. Mansch slowed on the restart with mechanical problems to end her night.

Doss continued advancing and nearly tangled with Beeler in turn three, which caused a domino effect ending with Myles Anderson taking a ride hard into the turn four wall. He was uninjured.

The ensuing restart was perhaps the most dramatic as Doss charged up to fifth and challenged Hedrick for fourth. Coming into turn three, they made contact and Hedrick slammed the wall hard after attempting to save the car. Hedrick ended up coming to a stop in turn one with the car briefly on fire as well.

Moore used the next run to go after Milburn, taking over the lead of the race on lap 70. Doss still had hope to win the bonus as he battled with Milburn for second before they came together and spun on lap 75. Both were able to continue from the back of the pack.

A late race spin for Roman set up a four lap shootout between 2015 champion Moore and 2014 champion Beeler but Moore was able to hang on for the big victory by .514 seconds. Juan Pitta won the Penney Racing Supply Hard Charger running from 16th to take third from Scribner at the stripe. Milburn recovered for fifth ahead of Doss in the sixth spot.

Moore’s win made him only the second repeat winner in the 12 rounds of PCS racing this year with Jeremy Doss getting four wins, while Derek Thorn, Shannon Mansch, Travis Milburn, Hunter Corbitt, Mike Beeler, and Kyle Gottula each earned single victories.

Mike Beeler led all Pacific Challenge Series competitors with $600 worth of pink ribbons sold towards the Placer County Breast Cancer Endowment and UC Davis Cancer Research.  Beeler won a set of American Racer Tires for his efforts!

Saturday’s event concluded the 2015 Pacific Challenge Series presented by PenneyLawyers.com Information regarding the 2016 season and the 2015 Championship Awards Banquet will be available soon.

The Pacific Challenge Series is presented by: Penney Racing Supply, Penney & Associates, American Racer Tires, Maita Chevrolet, Compact-It, Northwest Compactors, Naake Suspension, Sunoco Fuels, Five Star Bodies, KB Fabrication, Lefthander Chassis, ARP Bodies, Joes Racing Products, Bassett Wheels, Frank’s Radio, Racer Bling, and Blakesley Sports Media. All PCS Super Late Models race ABC Bodies on American Racer Tires with Sunoco Racing Fuel.

2015 Pacific Challenge Series schedule & race winners

April 11 Irwindale Speedway – Derek Thorn *non-points*

April 18 All American Speedway – Shannon Mansch

May 9 Ukiah Speedway – Jeremy Doss

May 23 Stockton 99 Speedway – Jeremy Doss

June 27 All American Speedway – Travis Milburn

July 4 Stockton 99 Speedway – John Moore

July 18 Ukiah Speedway – Hunter Corbitt

August 15 Madera Speedway – Jeremy Doss

September 5 Stockton 99 Speedway – Mike Beeler

September 26 All American Speedway – Kyle Gottula

October 3 Ukiah Speedway – Jeremy Doss

October 17 All American Speedway *non-points* – John Moore

For more information on the Pacific Challenge Series, visit them online at www.PacificChallengeSeries.com or on Facebook.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *